Tea with Joseph Campbell….again…

When a woman decides to have children it is a silent commitment to herself that what ever she has to do she WILL DO.

“Motherhood is the ultimate sacrifice” said Joseph Campbell during a long conversation during his recording on DVD The Power of Myth.

That DVD changed my life when I was first exposed to it my sophomore year in Acting School as much as my KIDS have changed my life since my first one showed up in the year 2004.

 08

The Power of Myth is full of life altering moments.  Ah-ha’s at every turn.  Ah-ha’s that hit you in the gut and ground you to the mother Earth….I walk away with…we are ALL the SAME as we are ALL “happening” ALL over the place.

This is how I think of motherhood.  No matter what, no matter of the individual woman I come in contact with I KNOW we have all “made this silent commitment”(..at least most of us.)

 05

I had a moment today sitting in a school meeting, not for my son who has Austism, but for my son, LOGAN, who IS “scared to go to school”.  I am dealing with  a child who is dealing with separation anxiety at the age 8 because of the life circumstances of his fathers job.  He travels a lot.  Going back and forth to Atlanta and then flying out to NYC and such on “business”.  It’s a decision we made taking the job, but it was a decision that we had no idea would change the psyche of our children.  It’s been right at a year now that our family has been ‘on the move”.  It’s challenges are many, but our security is much more “secure”.  We are “all good” (most of the time), but at the same time, “walking on egg shells.” (some of the times).

Not knowing what the kids will do each time DAD says, “BYE”.

06 09 07

I know in my gut that we are doing the right thing.  We are not trust funds babies LOL, and we are certainly eager to “make it on our own”.  I know we are stellar parents no matter the strange arguments we find ourselves in as “mother and father” arguing over who is right and who is wrong when it comes to the “fundamentals” of, for example, “sharing”.  Teaching children is more of an ART than I ever experienced in  ART SCHOOL!

03 02

I have been moving around MANY obstacles of MANY colors as of late.  I have been what you call…..a warrior…..breathing in deep and finding focus at ALL COST.  I sit here at the begining of a new season…Autumn….wondering how many leaves will fall.  I sit here at the beginning of a new cycle of LIFE.  I find some strange comfort acknowledging this change of season….knowing I too will experience a change…

soon enough….

01 04

IF YOU CAN NOT FIND TRUTH RIGHT WHERE YOU ARE, WHERE ELSE DO YOU EXPECT TO FIND IT

DOGAN (1200-1253)

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

