Mr. Red-Wing Black Bird: Thank You

Inspiration comes from the inside out.

What causes that “ah ha” moment?  That moment when we expand a bit wider as human beings?

Well, I had a moment……

I was driving to my children’s elementary school to drop  lunch off  for Jack and had to pull into the grocery store to buy some chocolate milk.  As I turned the steering wheel to the left something bright red caught my eye.  It was attached to a small black wing siting on a dogwood branch.

It was a black bird.  But not all black!  I had never seen a bird like this before.  It was completely black, but with a dash of red and even less of a dash of yellow on it’s wings.  As little as the color was to me it looked like the Atlantic Ocean.  HUGE.

I immediately stopped the car and tried to take a picture.  I only had my iPhone and couldn’t zoom in tight enough to get the detail of my new found friend.  I didn’t get a shot, but I found someone who did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I chased him down three parking lots but to no avail.

I happily resigned myself to watching him for a moment until I realized the time.  I had to “fly” away or Jack wouldn’t get his lunch.

Inspiration is all around us.

It’s in the small details of our every day living.  Something I am becoming aware of is that if you are looking for inspiration you will find it.  If you are simply sitting around hoping inspiration finds you….it won’t.  It has a quiet confidence that envelops the world.  It’s energy is forever present to the eye that chooses to see.

It’s as if two worlds exist at once.

World ONE…. driving along, taking Jack’s lunch, stopping off for chocolate milk with my eyes wide shut.  Robotic.  Habitual happenings such as turning the steering wheel to the left and not OPEN to anything else around me.

OR

World TWO…driving along, taking Jack’s lunch, stopping off for chocolate milk with my eyes wide OPEN.  Present.  Intentional happenings such as turning my steering wheel to the left and being OPEN to anything around me.

Today I saw a bird that has forever changed my vision of what is possible.  This little “red winged black bird” has EXPANDED my AWARENESS of POSSIBILITIES.

Ever so closer to TRUTH….

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

