Devil went down to……

GEORGIA……

creek

I think of Peaches, Peanuts, Jimmy Carter, Bull Dogs John Meyers, Charlie Daniels and Gone with the Wind.

 I read Gone with Wind with Jack laying beside me all summer in Hollywood California in 2004.  He was drinking milk, while I drank up all the southern dialogue capture with a  pen.  It was an astonishing read….getting through such a “big book” is one of my “up town” accomplishments.  I am an avid reader, well was, until I traded pages in for moving characters called my kids!  Well worth the trade, but I do miss the quiet times journeying inside someone else’s head.

“If you don’t care what folks says

about this family, I does.I has told ya and told ya that you

can always tell a lady by the way she

eats in front of folks like a bird, and I ain’t aimin’ for you to go to Mr. John Wilkerson’s

and eat like a field hand

and gobble like a hog!”

I bring up reading because as I look outside my window this morning the rain is falling and the pine trees are cascading above our house.  Many pine trees cascading above our house.  I had no idea there were so many pine trees in Georgia.   Tall, thin and seemingly fragile.  I am petrified for the spring storms to come rolling through.  I look up and keep imagining one of these pine trees come crashing down on the “blue” house!  Thank god we rent!

pinecone1 pinecone2 pinetree1

There is nothing more I would LOVE to do right now than to start a really good book.  But I can’t.  I won’t.  I have much more commanding things to assist to.  For the second time in six months we, Matt, Jack and I are having to file for due process with our school system.  Due Process is a HALT to Jack’s IEP (Individual Educational Program) provide by the all public schools for children with special needs who attend school with needs of special/direct services and accommodations.  I have to say Tennessee was a breeze compared to Georgia!  It has been nothing short the definition of  “injustice’.    Waiving “we are the school and we have a magic wand to do what ever we want” wand is NOT how a child’s IEP should be worked with.  Jack has rights, very clear, very strong protecting rights, we will advocate til their wand is blown up into tiny little pieces.

fape

Enough about that…I am posting this morning to try to get my mind off such happenings.  I am trying to ‘zen out’ if you will.

lotusflower1

I am working on centering myself and keeping all this craziness in perspective.  Life is all about that one thing word isn’t it?  Perspective.  What a powerful thought.  If and when you are spinning out of control with thoughts and fears and worries –try placing your thoughts on ONLY what REALLY matters in life.  LOVE, HEALTH, & HAPPINESS.  These words are what hold us together.  These are the words that sew us up in our human clothes.

All these worries and fears that often take over the mind are silly little accessories we “choose” to wear on any given day.

Not everyday can be either or. Some days are diamonds, somedays coal.

 Somedays we WILL wear  these silly accessories simply because of our “human ” nature.  But it doesn’t mean we don’t notice the beauty of our bare skin.

Pinkie

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

