UNDER THE WINGS OF LOVE

 

 

LovelyBird

Nothing says rebirth like watching a mother mourning dove give birth to a new generation

she landed in a medium size flower-pot on our back porch

she sat and sat

relentlessly watching us as we came in and out the door

we found her sitting one night looking at us when we suddenly looked at her

we were surprised of her presence and excited to see such natural beauty

we felt one

we were one

for days

we learned to move with a fluidity of a monk

almost like on a cloud

past her down the stairs

we were careful not to tell the children

we were afraid she would fly away

and leave her lone egg

she did twice as we got too close

but always returned in minutes

we knew

it was safe

for over two weeks passing

then one day a small child found her

they stood facing face to face

eyeball to eyeball

neither one moved

but they both breathed

in

out

finally i heard

“mommy come look at the bird!”

i stood watching- i already knew

she turned and i smiled

and held my finger to my lips

“shhh”

she has a little baby

walking over to them i felt like i held a pass to a magical world

like walking into the wardrobe to meet the lion

i bent over to see with my child’s eye

 we both inhaled in sudden delight

the little guy was under her wing

he was there all along

the egg had disappeared, thrown away by time

the lovely mama and her one true love

sat peacefully

watching us with their still

all-knowing

eyes.

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

