Blue for Baby Blue for Boy

This is

Logan on his first day of kindergarden.

This is today.  His last.

He’s done.  

Maybe a little over done.

 He just finished his last day of kindergarden!  I am so proud.  I am so amazed of all he did and how much hard work and effort he put into it all year! Day in and day out.  Week after week.  Month after month.

For those of you who either have already gone through kids or steps ahead, or even starting kindergarden next year–watch out!  It is more like the first grade.  It is heavy in words and more words.  I can’t get over how much homework he had at night  and all the stuff I would find in his backpack each day after.  I have no questions as to if Logan is working at school.  They really keep them busy!

I worked in the class serval times and have gotten to know the kids.  They are ALL so cute and terribly sweet!  Mr. Houser, the teacher, said it was the biggest bag of sugar she has taught in a long time LOL….every time I come in I have so many kiddo’s come up with hugs and high fives.

Logan is my doll.  I have always said from the moment we met that the world is going to make a doll out of him.  He was so cute as a baby, smiling at all the pretty girls in LA that I them saying he was their boyfriend on a regular bases and ask during lunch outings why I didn’t bring him!  He is such a lady’s man.

He is also terribly smart.  He is capable of twisting turning so fast that before I know it I am at the cash registarter buying the lastest and greatest because somehow he “talked” me into it.

When I was about to have two boys instead of one, I remember talking to my mother on the phone about how it was so hard for me to believe I could ever love anyone as much as I loved Jack.  I was super apprehensive just wondering how I was going to have a big enough heart.  Not that I didn’t want to, mind you, I was SO excited he was coming into our family, but I think now looking back, it was because I didn’t know him.  I knew Jack.  I had spent time with Jack and my heart grew bigger and bigger as time moved forward. Now I was going to have to have even a bigger heart, to love another?  I couldn’t imagine.

Then he showed up.

He was here before I knew it.  He looked into my eyes, and to this day I SWEAR his voice rang into mine, “Hi I’m LOGAN.

LOGAN?  I thought! You’re suppose to be Griffin!

But I knew instantly that he was right.

LOGAN it was.

LOGAN it had always been.

I LOVE him.

I LOVE him.

 I LOVE him.

He makes me happy.  He is my stone.  He is the one that I lean on when I need strength.  Sometimes at night when I can’t sleep I will go crawl into this bed him and cuddle with him.  Listening to our whales on the white noise sound machine.  Sometimes the falling rain. Other times the ocean waves.  We both are known to pass out in two minutes flat when we lay down and turn on the sounds and off the lights.  We are both the ones in the house that love going to bed and wake up early.  One day I hope to read books with him in the early morning weekends.  Quiet–just the two of us reading and talking about a lot nothing.

He is a natural comedian.

Making anyone laugh and getting things that most third graders aren’t.

His timing is amazing and his laugh even better.

He is goofy but at the same time very charming.

 I always think of Chevy Chase.

Drama comes in a close second.  But it’s not his thing.

He can cry on que if he just thinks about his friend Vivian not being around for the summer.

There are so many things I could sit and write.  So much I could say.  Guess most importatly for today I wanted to let you, the world know, the proud mama I am,  that MY KINDERGARDNER –finished his first year of school!!!

 Life is so amazing.

I remember when he finished his first glass of gerber green beans. I can see him in my head taking that first foot step and his first word coming straight out of his mouth.  I remember the first night he sleep all the way through and the first birthday cake he stuck his finger in.  I remember his first smile and I remember his first really sad day of tears.  I can feel his first sickness and I see his first kiss–somewhere up in the distance.

Life moves quick.

It twists and turns and bends and breaks.  So does the experience of being a mom.

It is hard sometimes not to keep looking at them as “my little babies”.  Logan isn’t a baby anymore.  He is only going forward into boyhood.  He is starting to say things like, “holy crap and oh my gosh are you serious!”  It makes me laugh and makes me sad at the same time.  He is growing up.  I am grown up.  Life is moving, as I write this post, the minutes have past and the day is shortening.  He has grown even a little bit more.

By the end of the summer he will be ready to walk into the FIRST GRADE.

Betcha I will post about that too!

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

