Rainy Day Beautiful

I am sitting in my house as silent as a mouse.

Two asleep on the couch and one outside happily playing  his DS.

I am full of twirling swirling thoughts

what I HAVE to DO

what I WANT to DO

and WHAT I THINK I SHOULD BE DOING

Ahh the life of ME

Sometimes when I feel like this I take myself to the bookstore and let a book fall off the shelf.  I don’t know what I am looking for.  I just know that I will find it if I just poke around long enough and stay OPEN to what catches my eye.  I have done this so many times and found many books that have guided me along the way.

I love TITLES.

Book titles, song titles, what ever title I can read.

Titles are little crystal balls into the bigger picture.

If you are taken by a “title” you will follow it to the cash register and beyond.

It is ALL summed up into one small little cluster of words.

The front page of any book is a present.

Lying inside a whole world of imagination.  People, places and events.  Crime, love, lust, laughter , tears.  I can’t find my way out of good book except straight through it.

Straight down the rabbit hole.

There are the books full of wisdom.

Those with loud voices.

And ones that stick with you like honey all the way to your end.

A couple of mine “honey” books are Travels with Charlie – by John Steinbeck, The Assassin- by  Margret Atwood, Unless-by Carol Shields.

Pathway to Bliss-by Joseph Campbell,

I am a book-worm.

I have a kindle fire and I just can’t seem to pick it up.  I have an IPAD and let the kids use it for games.  I have a 5.99 used paper back book and I LOVE holding it in my hand heading for the car.  I read at red lights and in store lines.  I have handmade book marks and underline important passages, fiction and non fiction, with ink!

I am known to have four or five books going at the same time.

Everyone has a story.

There as many stories as there are drops of rain from a storm.

Each having different combination of characters we are all so familiar with.

Each having a beginning, middle and end.

Each full of wonder.

I am swirling and twirling around in one of these days I try to take a deep breath and look back.  Look back inside my mind’s eye and see my story, how it has happened up to the present moment.  I see all the choices I have made that lead me to this moment in time.  It is miraculous.

I am the watch maker and the watch.

I am all those combinations of words that make up the sentences and the paragraphs and the chapters of my existence.

OPEN to your story.

Be the bird that sings the song.

I have days were I forget this and find myself overwhelmed and confused about where my path is leading me.

Then I have days of clarity. I have days that shine on the path as bright as the biggest idea.

Books are my way of escaping, learning, thinking, and interacting with the world.

The characters I meet stay with me for a life time.  The words I read that have ink around them are the wisdom I go to when I need some inspiration.

The ART of writing down what you see, feel and here in you heart is a beautiful thing.

It is how we humans share our visions that come deep in the night.

I started off talking about titles.

I love to hear the title behind the story.

I have been thinking this whole time writing this post what would my title be?

Well, my story isn’t over, but for now, something like:

Rainy Day Beautiful

What’s yours?

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

