THE BIG EIGHT

I was SO busy yesterday getting ready for JACK’s Birthday that I didn’t have time to post.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY YESTERDAY MONKEY MAN!

He turned the big 8 and is now heading to 9.

We had a freaking’ blast!  The inflatable was worth every penny and the kids were really good.  Everyone had a lot of fun and no one got hurt.  Well, maybe some feelings here and there, but no REAL damage!

The adult, good friends and family, ( the Tipton Hassles’s, Toads, and Stranger’s were very missed) we enjoyed wine and grilled dogs and the kids drank two coolers of kool-aid.   Jack’s cake was a hit and we all didn’t settle down until at 11pm.

School was going to come early!

Jack you are the wings beneath my wings.

I am in love all over again.

I can’t believe he is the age I tried to imagine him when we lived in LA playing in our apartment in Hollywood….I would look at him and wonder what kind of BOY he would become….he is here now, my everyday is spent with him rather than that little toddler.  He still looks the same, but doesn’t.  He still laughs the same, but somehow has more underneath the sound.  He still has the same smile, but NOT the same teeth!

Watching my baby grow UP is nothing short of amazing.

I watch Logan and Tatum right behind Jack, Logan now has two lose teeth!

He cried last night when asking me “how old is Jack?”  I told him and tears rolled down his face while saying, “I will never catch up!”

I love this part of being a mom.

These times when life lessons are handed down like a cookie from a cookie jar.

I looked at him and said,

“It is true my dear, you will never catch up, but you too will turn 8.  

You too will grow.  You too will soon be the BOY I imagined sitting in the floor at 2 playing with toys with lights and sounds.

 You too will be nothing short of amazing.”

Tatum is either not interested or not old enough to realize she is the youngest.  She is not yet quiet full of WHY’s and HOW”s.

I wish I remembered my questions.  I think it is a human curse not to remember your childhood as it was.  The magic the uncertainties.  The excitement.

Being a child is at some angels is better than being an adult.

But by the time being adult comes around, being a child is a fogging dream.

Only fragments of the real thing.

Often I don’t know what really “happened” compared to what I made up from the pieces of my mind.

Much like a dream.

Having children is like molding clay.

 You can mold and mold.

But you must be free enough with the molding to let it guide you to what it wants to become.

I am so proud to have become the mom of these three lovely souls.  I am so……..

I am so…..

I am so so so……

so so

so

so

happy to have three happy healthy loving children.  I wish nothing else on every falling star I see.

Thank you kids for being who you are and helping me be the me I see.

I love you guys!

Happy Bday Jack!  To the little boy I use to hang in Hollywood with to the boy I hang with now!

 What a kid!

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

