Beauty is Not Caused It Is

There is a confident beauty looking back at me in this picture.

It is one of the very first pictures I took more than three years ago when I stepped into the world of photography.

I was amazed at the results considering my “newness”.

I have an obsession when it comes to Spring.

Flowers.

Blooming, coming to life, handing out colors, marketing the show that is about to begin.

When the show starts I stop.

I notice.  I breathe.

I know that when I get busy with everyday life that I can find a focus that is so narrow that I don’t bother to turn my head-left or right-up or down.

Looking straight forward with that determined gaze is so “American”.

Focus is needed to achieve your dreams, but I have realized that the dream is ALL around me.  It is me.  It envelopes me like a fog, it is something that surrounds my every experience.  It comes with me everywhere like my shadow.

I think a lot about things such as “mindfulness” “oneness” walking around “awake.”

 

I glide light on my feet when I do.

I feel secure in my skin when I notice something that IS.

I breathe like a sleeping baby when I take the time to OPEN my eyes and see what is going on around me.

I am aware.

I can’t help but focus on this “mindfulness” I find myself in.

The title of the blog is a quote from Emily Dickenson.  She gave us so many amazing “truths” in words it’s hard to pick just on quote.  I find this quote one of best.

“Beauty is not caused it is”

WOW–there is really no better way to put it.

I say this and I relax into that “someone” I want to be.

I see what is moving all around me, constant fleeting movement–life–beauty.

I have a very hectic everyday routine right now.

I struggle with this daily.

I sometimes wake up and wonder if I can do it all over again.

But, once the coffee kicks in and I get my brain going I realize that there is no other choice.

Life is happening and I can get  IN or get OUT.

Don’t get me wrong I am not always Polly Anna looking back at life in the face.

I have times where I scream up to the clouds and say why me?

Creative living is the only thing that gets me through these moments.

I OPEN my self up and take in what is being sent my way.

The universe is so very full of surprises.

It offers so many moments for free interpretation.

I know somewhere in all this beauty that IS sits, patiently waiting with a gentle all knowing smile, with arms out saying, “you finally got here, now enjoy”

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

2 thoughts on “Beauty is Not Caused It Is”

Leave a Reply

