My Husband the Baker

I wish I could say I made this, but in all honesty my husband did.

The kitchen for the past two years has turned into his secret laboratory  Like a scientist he goes in almost every night and cooks something up in is “lab”

On Saturdays when I run off for some R&R from “family life” you can always find him among melted butter, sifted flour and icing.

He is the

 cake maker.

I remember when I first met him he told me the story of how he won his first grade baking contest.

He and his mom made Hello Dolly’s.

He told me time and time again how he loved going to the grocery store with his mom and spending hours just looking around.

They both are incredible bakers.

I think Matt has taken it to the level of art.

Coming from an arts background it should be no surprise, but I remember the days in NYC working on acting careers he couldn’t cook spag from a bottle.

He didn’t know how to “saute” and had NEVER head of the word RUE.

However, he has always made the BEST chocolate cookies this side of the Mississippi (or Denver) depending on the coast.

I love the baker in him.

He has been doing it a long time, BUT DAMN!

I had no idea he would become the Chef he is becoming!

I never get in the kitchen he’s always there!  Reading this book and that, pulling out food he’s bought on his lunch break.

I’ve got a nice gig.

I play in my studio while he cooks.  I should really help with the dishes more often than I do.

He has come a long    

way from the “no way Idon’t

know how to cook that!” days.

Now he is improvising in the kitchen most nights with eagerness and relaxation.

He reads cookbooks instead of novels and writes music while he stirs.

I am constantly, saying, “hey wait, let me get a picture before we eat it!)

His presentation is just as important as each spice he picks and his research is sound.

It may take him hours to prepare and at times and honestly with three kids I  can get frustration because lately he is always “in” the kitchen.

But man, if it doesn’t feed his soul :0 (yes pun intended)

So I really try to shut my mouth and do what it takes for him to play.

It is something to admire.  His committment and

precision.  How he labors over it like NASA  must right before a mission.

I think Carl Sagan would be proud.

He made the cake for a client that was having their “made it the first year” party!  (They couldn’t say enough about it.  And handed out his business cards to all their friends.)

And daydreams about opening his own restaurant.

Who knows what the future may bring.

I don’t know what he has in store for the big V day.

We don’t celebrate it much.

Mostly for the kids so one strawberry dipped in his homemade chocolate will suffice.

Chocolate and Love day come hand in hand.

And that…….

I will save that for another post.

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

