RED

 

 

Today I say …..

 

 

On a more serious note–today is national heart association day.

Be Good to Your Heart Day!

It’s a good cause and I can’t hardly imagine anyone now a days that hasn’t been touched by someone who has battled with heart disease or something related.

My dad had a heart attack in 2002 and it was one of the scariest days of my life.  I was far off in LA at the time planning my wedding.  I was to come home in a matter of a month and have him walk me down the isle.

I couldn’t believe I couldn’t get home.  I was simply too far away.  So I waited by the phone.  It was miserable.  My sister and mother were here and I can only say they had it rougher.  My sister saw him flatline.

Thank our lucky stars in two hours or so my dad was safe and recovering.  He was going to “make it”.

I have never felt such strong gratitude.   Of course I cried a river and kept saying over and over, “thank you, thank you, thank you”

I wanted to go home so bad.

The miles felt like a telephone being wrapped around my neck.

Long story short, he recovered and has been living his life as a “heart patient” ever since.

 

Today many colors of RED showed up all around me.

Being heart month and all I made these hearts as a tip to the hat to my dad and all the others who live with heart issues today.

We are all human.

We all bleed RED.

Kiss someone today and say “Happy RED Day”

I did.

 

 

Author: openlifestudio

I am a self taught photographer and mixed media artist with a degree from the North Carolina School of the Arts in classical theatre performance. Stage was my first love and brought me into the world art while photography is what made me want to stay. I am married to superman, and am the mother of three little super-ducks. I studied creative writing at the Univeristy of Tn and classical drama at the NC School of the Arts, and a Masters in Education with concentration of inclusion and curriculum. I've liived in NYC and LA for the past decade and moved back to TN for some home cooking and back yard fun . I spend most of my days getting little ones through life and playing in my studio. I sell my work through different venues and am really happy where I find myself these days. I love to drink a bottle of wine (with my hubby) coupled with extra cheddar blast goldfish! Having kids has changed my life, the arts has shaped my life, and my soulmate continues everyday to walk through my life beside me. What else could a country city girl like me need.

Leave a Reply

